Recent Posts
Connect with:
Thursday / May 30.
HomeminewsYO Appoints New Chair and Executive

YO Appoints New Chair and Executive

Rose Huang has been elected as Chair of Young Optometrists, an organisation started in 2012 to “represent optometrists in their first decade of practice and address needs specific to young professionals finding their way in the optometric profession”.

Ms. Huang, who was the Vice President of Optometry Society at UNSW, will be supported by a new executive comprising: Secretary: Megan Tu; Treasurer: Wilson Luu; Social Officer: Theresa Bui; Education Officer: Abdul Hamidi; Social Media Officer: Melody She; Support Social Media Officer: Sarah Pham; Publications Officer: Anna Su. Additionally, a subcommittee has been elected comprising Sarah Tait; Herenia Chung; Ben Kwan and Wendy Saw.

Speaking of the appointment, Ms. Huang said, “I’m thrilled to be part of the YO team, which is made up of such amazing and passionate optometrists. We hope to further the amazing organisation that Megan Tu, Carina Trinh, Rebecca Li, Rajeev Naidu, Jack Phu, Chris Pooley, and other committee members have built. YO is a non-profit organisation designed to assist young optometrists. Our aim has always been to facilitate career development opportunities, promote essential networking and provide a friendly learning environment to support young optometrists.”

Carina Trinh, who was the previous Chair of Young Optometrists said, “The team and I have full confidence that Rose will lead the organisation with our vision to best support optometry students and optometrists within 10 years of graduation.”