Recent Posts
Connect with:
Monday / July 15.
HomeminewsOA Announces New Leaders

OA Announces New Leaders

Darrell Baker has been appointed President and Kylie Harris has been appointed Deputy President of Optometry Australia.

Mr Baker joined the Optometry Western Australia board in the early 2000s. He was subsequently appointed President (a role he held until 2017), and in 2011 he was appointed the Western Australia representative on the Optometry Australia board. He served as Deputy President prior to his recent appointment to President.

Ms Harris, who served two separate terms on the Optometry Victoria board, including President of the state organisation from 2013–2016, was appointed to the Optometry Australia board in December 2016.

Mr Baker and Ms Harris will be at the helm of the organisation as implementation of Optometry 2040, the 20 year agenda and strategy to create a plausible, sustainable future for optometry in Australia, begins.

“This next phase for our organisation will ensure maximal use and further development of the skills of optometrists, and practice and clinical management to meet rapidly changing patient requirements and community eye health demands,” said Mr Baker.

“There is no place for reactive organisations in today’s world – we need to be proactive and forward thinking if we are to shape our future as a profession and I am excited about the leadership challenge this presents”.

Mr Baker replaced Andrew Hogan as President. Mr Hogan also stepped down from the Optometry Australia board following two stints with a combined eight years of service as a director.