Recent Posts
Connect with:
Saturday / June 22.
HomeminewsResearch Australia Awards: Nominations Open

Research Australia Awards: Nominations Open

Applications have opened for the Research Australia Awards, recognising contributions in everything from cutting edge research through to advocacy, and philanthropic work.

Research Australia, CEO Nadia Levin said the Research Australia Awards are an opportunity to celebrate those who make life-changing advances possible.

“There are so many extraordinary people in this sector who are deserving of recognition, and we are calling for them to nominate themselves and their colleagues,” said Ms. Levin.

“The Awards are the health and medical research industry’s night of nights – they are the opportunity for the best and brightest in the industry to recognise each other’s achievements.

Calls for nominations close Wednesday 3 August

“By definition, health and medical research is a field that continues to innovate, evolve, advance and diversify, but we need to take some time – once a year – to pause and reflect on the achievements.

“That’s what these awards are for, and the criteria are very broad to ensure that no matter the age, experience, or subject matter of the nominated person, their contribution can be recognised.

“A new award introduced this year recognises a significant area, Data Innovation, and nominations could relate to data manipulation, new methodologies or greater availability of data for research.

“We are calling for individuals, teams or whole organisations who have made an outstanding impact through their own research, or through supporting research, to nominate.”

Award Categories

The Research Australia Awards are sponsored by Griffith University and GSK and recipients are selected by the Research Australia Board. Awards categories for 2016 are:

  • The Peter Wills Medal: Research Australia’s flagship Award that recognises an Australian who has made an outstanding contribution to building Australia’s international reputation in the area of health and medical research, and fostering collaboration for better health.
  • Advocacy Award: recognises an Australian from the media, a celebrity or member of the community who has raised community awareness about the benefits of health and medical research.
  • The Griffith University Discovery Award: An early researcher (no more than five years post PhD) whose paper/patent/discovery has already demonstrated its importance or impact.
  • Great Australian Philanthropy Award: to recognise and encourage personal philanthropic donations over a period of time by an individual or family to health and medical research.
  • Data Innovation in Health & Medical Research Award: for the development of the most innovative method of gathering, making available, processing or interpreting data in a way that advances the sector. Open to all fields of health and medical research.
  • Leadership in Corporate Giving Award: recognises outstanding leadership by a corporation or business giving to and supporting health and medical research through relationships or partnership and commitment over time.
  • Health Services Research Award: A new Award created in 2014 to recognise the importance of the emerging field of health service research.

The Research Australia Health and Medical Research Awards will be held on Wednesday 16 November. Calls for nominations close Wednesday 3 August. Visit researchaustralia.org.