Recent Posts
Connect with:
Saturday / June 22.
HomeminewsScholarship Could Improve Eyecare Delivery

Scholarship Could Improve Eyecare Delivery

Luxottica has announced the winners of its 2011 Optometry Professional Development Awards, with ten outstanding optometrists from across Australia and New Zealand given the opportunity to increase their skill level and remain at the forefront of the industry.

As part of its support for ongoing professional development, each year Luxottica selects and sponsors ten of its leading Optometrists to undertake study in a specialist area of clinical Optometry. This year’s recipients have chosen to specialise in Ocular Therapeutics and Advanced Clinical Optometry.

Grant Fisher, National Eye Care Manager for Luxottica, believes that providing these scholarships across Australia and New Zealand, including in CBD, regional and remote areas, will improve the reach and level of specialist eye care Luxottica is able to provide.

“We can only provide exceptional eye care if our Optometrists are at the cutting edge of their field,” he said.

Each year Luxottica selects and sponsors ten of its leading Optometrists to undertake study in a specialist area of clinical Optometry

Jason Lim, Optometrist at Laubman & Pank Tea Tree Plaza in South Australia, has chosen to undertake a Post Graduate Diploma in Advanced Clinical Optometry and believes it will improve the quality of eye care he provides to his patients on a daily basis.

“By continuing to learn and update my knowledge in the Optometry field, I am better able to meet the needs of my patients and provide them with the best eye care possible,” he said.

In addition to Jason, other scholarship winners were selected from Queensland, New Zealand, Victoria and Western Australia and two 2011 recipients are part of Luxottica’s National Relief Team, offering travelling Optometry cover to some of the region’s most remote areas.

The scholarship program will also benefit the Indigenous community by providing specialised rural optometry initiatives and improved access to eye health programs in areas where eye care services are currently few and far between.

The recipients are:
Anthony Waters, National Relief, Vic
Bill Lakic, OPSM Warwick, WA
Carolyn Evans, National Relief Team, Qld
Colleen Powell, OPSM Karratha, WA
Ernest Khoo, OPSM Riccarton, NZ
Jason Lim, Laubman & Pank Myer Tea Tree Plaza, SA
Julie Bazzo, Laubman & Pank Capalaba, Qld
KC Tan, OPSM Bagot House, SA
Kirsten Bolton, OPSM Little Collins Street, Vic
Robert McGregor, OPSM Mount Gambier, SA