Recent Posts
Connect with:
Monday / July 22.
HomeminewsIACLE 2023 Awards Announced

IACLE 2023 Awards Announced

Eye care professionals from three countries – Colombia, India, and Jordan – have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to contact lens education with prestigious awards from the International Association of Contact Lens Educators (IACLE).

The awards were presented on 7 June at the Gala Dinner of IACLE’s 4th World Congress on Contact Lens Education. The recipients were Dr Myriam Teresa Mayorga from La Salle University, Bogotá, Colombia; Isha Dave from Lotus College of Optometry, Mumbai, India; and Dr May Bakkar from Jordan University of Science and Technology, Ar-Ramtha, Jordan.

Eye care professionals from three countries… have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to contact lens education

The British Contact Lens Association’s (BCLA) Immediate Past President Neil Retallic congratulated the winners saying, “The BCLA is delighted to see well-respected educators receive the recognition they deserve through the IACLE awards. I am grateful for everything they do to support the profession.”

A Great Honour

Dr May Bakkar receives the 2023 Contact Lens Educator of the Year Award at IACLE’s 4th World Congress. L-R: Neil Retallic, May Bakkar, Juan Carlos Aragón and Philip Morgan.

Dr May Bakkar said the award was a “great honour”. Acknowledging the outstanding quality of IACLE’s teaching materials, webinars, and conferences she said, “All of these have assisted us in raising the standards of contact lens education in Jordan and the Middle East”.

The awards were sponsored by CooperVision, with co-sponsorship from the BCLA.

Karen Walsh, Director, Global Professional Affairs – 1 Day and FRP Brands for CooperVision said, “Inspiring a future generation of eye care professionals is at the heart of the IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Award. Passionate educators, committed to evidence-based contact lens practice, are a crucial part of this process. We are delighted to sponsor these awards and congratulate the 2023 recipients.”